Ohio Valley University on Facebook   
Ohio Valley University on Facebook   
LEAVE A MESSAGE IF OFFLINE
CHAT WITH OUR TEAM LIVE!
MON-SAT 10AM-10PM E.S.T.
LEAVE A MESSAGE IF OFFLINE
Ohio Valley University on Facebook   

 

Please check back...

Phone version ready soon

 

University Regulations

Ohio Valley University is committed to transforming lives. Like most communities, Ohio Valley establishes policies that enable it to fulfill its mission. Those policies, referred to as University Regulations, enable the University:

  • To cultivate a campus atmosphere that encourages spiritual, moral and intellectual growth;
  • To integrate our lives around Christian principles and devotion to Jesus Christ;
  • To remove whatever may hinder us from our calling as a Christ-centered academic community; and
  • To encourage one another to see that living for Christ involves dependence on God's Spirit and obedience to His Word.

policies:

Alcohol-Free Community

Ohio Valley University strongly discourages the use of alcohol, especially in order to get drunk. The University prohibits students from using alcohol within existing legal parameters, and enforces its policy to the full extent that the law allows.

Specifically, the Ohio Valley University community is alcohol-free, which means that members of the community should not possess or consume alcoholic beverages while on campus or while taking part in any University-sponsored activities. Additionally, members of the OVU community should not be on campus or at University-sponsored activities while under the influence of alcohol. Finally, members of the OVU community should not host, attend, or in any way assist or promote a gathering that includes underage drinking or drunkenness.

A person may be deemed to be under the influence of alcohol if he/she exhibits any of the conditions and degrees of intoxication associated with alcohol use, including but not limited to the following: alcohol on the breath; impaired physical capacity; offensive, disruptive, hazardous, destructive, and/or vulgar conduct during or following the consumption of alcoholic beverages; and deprivation of the clearness of mind and self-control that one would otherwise possess.

If a student is suspected of using alcohol, he/she may be required to submit to sobriety testing. Refusal to submit to sobriety testing may be considered an admission of alcohol use. Similarly, possession of empty alcohol containers may be considered strong evidence of alcohol use.

In West Virginia, it is illegal for persons under 21 years of age to purchase, sell, or drink alcohol. Ohio Valley University may inform local authorities about underage alcohol purchasers, sellers, and/or consumers.

The University also may take action against students who commit other criminal offenses related to alcohol regardless of where those offenses were committed. Alcohol criminal offenses include, but are not limited to, driving under the influence of alcohol, providing alcohol to minors, and public intoxication.

Students who need alcohol counseling, treatment, rehabilitation, or information concerning the health risks associated with alcohol use may talk with the Office of Student Life.

Violations of the Alcohol-Free Community policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Mandatory Counseling + Individualized Action Plan

3rd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

*Possession of alcohol on campus or at any University sponsored activity will also result in a $50 fine.*
 

Drug-Free Community

The Ohio Valley University community is drug-free, which means that members of the community should not use, purchase, or possess illegal drugs, or abuse over-the-counter or prescription drugs, whether on or off campus.

Students suspected of using illegal drugs may be required to submit to drug testing. Refusal to submit to drug testing may be considered an admission of drug use. Similarly, possession of drug paraphernalia may be considered strong evidence of drug use.

Students who need drug counseling, treatment, rehabilitation, or information concerning the health risks associated with drug use may talk with the Office of Student Life.

Violations of the Drug-Free Community policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Mandatory Counseling + Individualized Action Plan

3rd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

*Possesion of drugs on campus or at any University sponsored activity will also result in a $50 fine.*
 

Tobacco-Free Community

The Ohio Valley University community is tobacco-free, which means that members of the community should not possess or use tobacco products on campus or at any University-sponsored event.

Students who need information concerning the health risks associated with tobacco use may talk with the Office of Student Life.

Violations of the Tobacco-Free Community policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = $25 Fine

2nd Offense: $50 Fine

3rd Offense: $50 Fine + Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + Individualized Action Plan
 

Inappropriate Entertainment

Discretion should be used in choosing places of entertainment. Members of the OVU community should not patronize or be employed by establishments providing service or entertainment that is obviously at odds with Christian character and the values of the university including dance clubs, night clubs, strip clubs, private parties, and bars. Specifically, members of the OVU community should not attend any establishment or event at which a primary purpose is known to be the sale and/or consumption of alcoholic beverages.

Violations of the Inappropriate Entertainment policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

3rd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Personal Appearance

Members of the University community should avoid clothing that is revealing and/or features offensive slogans, language, or advertisements. Examples of revealing clothing include but are not limited to: midriffs or halters, mesh or netted shirts, tube tops, and short shorts. Examples of offensive slogans, language or advertisements include but are not limited to: curse words, sexually suggestive language or gestures, and references to alcohol or drugs.

Violations of the Personal Appearance policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Verbal Warning

2nd Offense = Written Warning

3rd Offense = Meeting with Dean of Students + Individualized Action Plan

 

Improper Visitation in the Residence Halls

The Ohio Valley University residence halls are separated into male and female living spaces. In order to be consistent with the values of the University, students and/or visitors should never enter the residence halls of the opposite sex without specific permission of Student Life personnel. Please note that students and/or visitors should not approach the window area of rooms housing students of the opposite sex.

Violations of the Improper Visitation in Residence Halls policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

3rd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Sexual Misconduct

Ohio Valley University affirms that sexual relationships are designed by God to be expressed solely within a marriage between husband and wife. This view of sexuality and marriage is rooted in the Genesis account of creation and is maintained consistently throughout the Bible. Sexual relations of any kind outside the confines of marriage (i.e., pre-marital, homosexual, or extra-marital) are inconsistent with the teaching of Scripture. Therefore, all members of the University are expected to avoid such conduct themselves and to refrain from encouraging it in others. Spending the night with a member(s) of the opposite sex, and/or being in any state of undress with members of the opposite sex – even if acts of sexual immorality have not occurred-are also actionable offenses.

Violations of the Sexual Misconduct policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Mandatory Counseling + Individualized Action Plan

3rd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Sexual Assault

The Ohio Valley University community believes that each individual is created in the image of God, and should be respected. Consequently, the University community will not tolerate sexual assault in any form, including acquaintance rape. For the purposes of this policy, sexual assault and acquaintance rape are defined as any action in which one person forces another to engage in sexual activity against his/her will or without his/her consent. Assent does not constitute consent if it is given because of youth, mental disease, intoxication, or perceived threat.

Violations of the Sexual Assault policy may result in a variety of disciplinary responses including, but not limited to, suspension or immediate dismissal.

 

Respect for Property and Theft

Members of the Ohio Valley University community should demonstrate proper respect for the personal space and property of others.

Entering the personal space (i.e., residence hall room, car) of another person without his/her permission is a violation of this policy and may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 1-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 3-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

Additionally, taking the personal property of another is a violation of this policy and may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Destruction of Property & Vandalism

Members of the OVU community should not vandalize, destroy, or deface University property or the property of another OVU community member.

Violations of the Destruction of Property & Vandalism policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Minimum of 5-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

3rd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Unauthorized Entry

Each facility on the campus of Ohio Valley University has unique operating hours, which serves to ensure that community property and community members are protected. Ohio Valley University community members should respect the operating hours of each facility, and should not enter campus facilities without authorization or during unauthorized times.

 

Explosives & Weapons

To ensure the safety of the Ohio Valley University community, its members should not possess or detonate any type of commercial or homemade explosives on campus.

Additionally, its members should not possess guns, archery equipment, knives, or other weapons on campus. Resident students should seek alternative, off-campus arrangements to store such equipment, including that used for hunting purposes.

Finally, Ohio Valley University community members should not display any weapon in a threatening manner.

Violations of the Explosives & Weapons policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

1st Offense = Minimum 5-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

2nd Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Harassment, Hazing, and Discrimination

The Ohio Valley University community believes that each individual should be treated in a manner consistent with the teachings of Jesus Christ. Consequently, members of the community should not subject fellow community members to any form of discrimination, humiliation, harassment, or intimidation, including physical, mental, verbal, or sexual humiliation, harassment, or intimidation.

Violations of the Harassment, Hazing, and Discrimination policy may result in a variety of disciplinary responses including, but not limited to, suspension or immediate dismissal.

 

ID Cards

Ohio Valley University community members are issued identification (ID) cards, which are required for many services on the campus including: dining hall services, residence hall entry, and library services. Community members should carry their ID cards at all times while on campus. For security purposes, students should not allow other students or any individual to use their ID cards.

 

Vehicles

Ohio Valley University community members are encouraged to bring vehicles to campus. To ensure the safety and security of all community members, all vehicles operated on campus must be registered with the Campus Security office within 72 hours of arrival on campus. This policy applies to both North and South Campuses.

How to register:

  1. Use the online form here or in person with Campus Security, located in Stott’s Administration Building, Room 45. It may be necessary to call (304)865-6258 to reach the on-duty guard. New students will be registered during school registration.
  2. A parking permit will be issued by Campus Security for the registered vehicle. If more than one vehicle is to be used on campus, separate permits will be issued for each vehicle. Permits will be available for pickup depending on the status of the driver. For instance, commuters may be able to retrieve their permits from the receptionist, but campus residents may receive theirs on move-in day. Due to the transient nature of security guards, regular office hours are difficult to predict. Please contact Campus Security at (304)865-6258 with questions about how to receive a permit.
  3. Registration is free: however, failure to register a vehicle will result in a $50.00 fine, not to exceed one fine per calendar week.

Any change in vehicle ownership or status, including the use of a borrowed, unregistered vehicle, should be reported to Campus Security within two business days. Community members should be aware that unreported changes may result in ticketing and that the ticket remains valid after the changes have been reported.

General Information
The speed limit on all campus property is 25 mph.

All parking regulations apply twenty-four hours a day, seven days a week. Bookstore customer parking is enforced Monday through Friday 9 am to 5pm.

Parking is defined in WV Code §17C-1-54 and that definition will be used on OVU’s campus; “Park,” when prohibited, means the standing of a vehicle, whether occupied or not, otherwise than temporarily for the purpose of and while actually engaged in loading or unloading.

Permits must be displayed on the rear view mirror with the numbers facing outward, unobstructed, and visible from the front bumper of the vehicle. If a vehicle requires an exception, please contact Campus Security to register the exception and avoid being ticketed.

Prior permission must be granted by Campus Operations to make automobile repairs or park disabled vehicles on campus. Abandoned vehicles will be towed at the owner’s expense.

Parking on Campus
Visitor parking is reserved exclusively for campus guests. OVU provides ample parking for employees and students.

A loading zone is located adjacent to the handicap accessible parking in Lot “A” near the main entrance of Stott’s Administration Building.

Parking lots “D” and “I” are reserved for employees only and students who park there will be ticketed. Employees that park in this lot without a properly displayed permit may also be ticketed.

There are several “reserved” and “no parking” areas on campus designated by signage. “No Parking” areas include all fire lanes, grassy areas, or sidewalks.

There is no parking above the dorm supervisor space in the driveway for Garman, Church, and Clark halls with the exception of a one (1) hour grace period for unloading.

If community members fail to abide by the vehicle and parking policy, they should expect to be ticketed. Persistent violations may result in disciplinary action from the Dean of Students, wheel locking, or towing at the owner’s expense.

Offenses and Fines
All student ticket violations will be charged to the student’s account 72 business hours after the violation and must be paid in the business office, Room 119. Students may protest their ticket within 48 business hours by calling 304-865-6015 and making an appointment with the security supervisor. Unpaid fines may restrict students from receiving grades, final transcripts, or diplomas.

Vehicles may be ticketed for any of the following at a rate of $25.00 per occurrence:

  1. Parking in designated space
  2. Parked in “No Parking” area
  3. Parked in loading zone over 1 hour
  4. Parked on grass/sidewalk
  5. Permit: Not properly displayed or missing
  6. Driving across grass/sidewalk
  7. Speeding
  8. Failure to obey traffic signs
  9. Littering
  10. Reckless acts in a vehicle
  11. Placing permit on unregistered vehicle

Vehicles may be ticketed for any of the following at a rate of $100.00 per occurrence:

  1. Use of handicap accessible parking without a state issued permit
  2. Unattended vehicle in driving/fire lane

 

Commuters

All University Regulations apply to commuting students.

Additionally, because living off campus is a privilege, commuters are required to submit the following information regarding their living arrangements to Student Life:

  • Physical address
  • Telephone number
  • Roommates or others living in household (if any)

This information must be provided before the end of the second week of classes and must be updated each semester and/or when a change occurs.

 

end faq

Additionally, the University expects students to represent its mission, purpose, and identity, whether on or off campus, and reserves the right to address any action, attitude, or lifestyle that is inconsistent with that responsibility. The following are examples of actions, attitudes, or lifestyles that are inconsistent with the University's mission, purpose, and identity: dishonesty; gambling; inappropriate language/gestures; improper use of internet; fighting; and violation of federal, state or local ordinances.

Student Life personnel reserve certain rights to aid in the enforcement of University Regulations, including enforcing those regulations while students are enrolled at the University, while students are residing on campus, and/or while students are representing the University in any capacity, whether on or off campus.

If you wish to report a violation of University regulations, you may utilize the Incident Report Form.

For more information, see Student Discipline.
 

Residence Hall Regulations

The following Residence Hall Regulations apply to all students who reside in Rampy, Smith, Lowland, Church, and Clark Halls.

Residency Requirements

Living on campus is one of the best ways to experience all that college life has to offer. Ohio Valley University encourages all students to live in campus housing, but requires only certain students to do so.

Specifically, if you are an unmarried full-time student, you will be required to live in campus housing unless:

  • You have earned at least 60 credit hours, or
  • You are 21 years of age or older, or
  • You live at home with your parents in the primary family residence, or
  • You are a single parent with dependents in residence.

Students who do not live on campus are required to have an "Off Campus Residence Record" on file in Student Life. Additionally, students who are not required to live on campus should treat this privilege with extreme care and make personal choices that will be consistent with the University's identity, mission, and purpose.

 

Dorm Opening/Closing Dates


Opening and closing dates for Smith, Rampy, and Lowland Halls can be found on the academic calendar. Students who arrive prior to the opening date are responsible for securing alternative housing off campus.  International students with extenuating circumstances due to travel issues may submit a written request to the Director of Residence Life to receive permission to arrive early or stay late.  Smith, Rampy, and Lowland Halls are closed during Thanksgiving and Spring Breaks.


Check-In Procedures

  • Each time you check into a new room, you must complete a Room Condition Report as part of the check-in process. You and the Resident Assistant will review the report and inspect the condition of your room
  • Room changes must be requested in writing, stating the reasons, approved by the dormitory supervisor and will only be considered after the second week of the semester. If students change rooms without permission, they will forfeit their entire room deposit of $150.
  • Every resident is required to obtain a room key. You will be charged a partially refundable key deposit of $35.00. Lost keys should be reported immediately to the dormitory supervisor, and will result in forfeiture of deposit. A partially refundable key deposit of $35.00 will be charged each time a new key is issued.

 

Check-Out Procedures

  • When checking out, you must carefully remove all wall posters, pictures, tape, Plasti-tak, etc.
  • A damage report must be filed with the Dormitory Supervisor indicating any damage to the room or furnishings. Unless proven otherwise, unreported damage will be considered your responsibility.
  • Rooms must be thoroughly cleaned prior to check-out.
  • Room keys must be returned directly to the Dormitory Supervisor or Resident Assistant in order to receive the partial refund.
  • You must also sign and complete a Room Condition Report.
  • If the room needs cleaning or damage repair, all or part of the deposit may be forfeited. If a refund is due to you, it will be returned following the completion of your final semester in the dormitory.
  • If you fail to complete the check-out process, all of the room deposit will be forfeited.

 

Cleanliness & Damage

Living in campus housing is a privilege, which carries certain responsibilities. One of those responsibilities is to maintain a clean and damage-free environment that all students can enjoy.

In light of that concern, a $150.00 damage/cleanliness deposit will be charged to your account as part of the initial semester registration. You are responsible for any damage that may occur in your room. Damage should be reported immediately to the Dormitory Supervisor or Resident Assistant. You must also report any damage that occurs to the residence hall baths, laundries, hallways, etc. Those responsible will be billed for the cost of the repair. Any damage may reduce the amount of refund from the deposit.

Additionally, you are encouraged to keep your living areas neat and clean at all times. Residents are responsible for supplying their own cleaning supplies and vacuums.  Student Life personnel will make an inspection of your room twice each month. You must thoroughly clean your living area prior to inspection. If you fail a cleanliness inspection, you will be fined $25.00.  Residents with habitual room cleanliness violations will be required to meet with the Dean of Student Life.

 

Laundry Facilities

The University provides laundry facilities in each residence hall. Be sure that you don't leave your clothing unattended. Please report use of the laundry facilities by non-residents or unauthorized visitors to your dormitory supervisor, so that we can ensure the space is available for resident use only.

 

Curfew

Sleeping, studying, and personal reflection are important aspects of college life, especially for students who are new to the university culture. In order to encourage students to balance those concerns with all the fun and excitement of college, the University has an evening curfew for resident freshmen and sophomore students. 

On Sunday - Thursday, the curfew is midnight to 6 a.m. On Friday & Saturday, the curfew is 1 a.m. to 6 a.m. During curfew, students must be in the assigned areas of their residence halls.  Nightly room checks will be made in every room and freshmen and sophomores must be visually seen by a Resident Assistant in order to be counted as present at curfew.  It is the resident’s responsibility to be seen by the Resident Assistant. On Sunday-Thursday, freshmen and sophomores are not permitted in the commons area during curfew hours.  On Fridays and Saturdays, freshmen and sophomores may return to the commons area after being seen by a Resident Assistant and counted as present for curfew.

Students who have earned 60 credit hours or students 21 years old or older are granted the privilege of not having curfew restrictions. If you fall into this category, you are expected to use this privilege with discretion and consideration for others.

Late permission for freshmen and sophomores to be out of the residence hall after curfew will be granted at the discretion of the dormitory supervisor and only in cases of absolute necessity.

Each student with a curfew is allowed 15 "late minutes" each semester. After those "late minutes" are used, violations of the curfew policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

     1st Offense = Written Warning

     2nd Offense = $25 Fine

     3rd Offense = $50 Fine + Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + Individualized Action Plan

     4th Offense = Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + 1-day Suspension

     5th Offense = Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + 3-day Suspension

If a student aids another student in violating curfew (i.e. upperclassmen allowing underclassmen to use his/her ID to swipe into the building, opening the doors for an underclassmen, allowing an underclassmen to sneak through a window), that student may be disciplined in the same manner as the student violating curfew (see above for disciplinary responses).

If students who have curfew leave the residence halls after curfew or engage in behavior that is deemed to be an attempt to deceive residence hall personnel (i.e. stuffing beds), the following disciplinary responses may result:

     1st Offense = $25 Fine

     2nd Offense = $50 Fine + Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life

     3rd Offense = Minimum of 2-day Suspension + Individualized Action Plan

     4th Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters

 

Sign-Out

Resident students under curfew who plan to be off campus overnight must sign-out by curfew, must go to the destination indicated on the sign-out sheet, may not sign-out to the homes of single students of the opposite sex, and must leave the residence halls before curfew on the night of their scheduled departure.  Sunday through Thursday, students with curfew requirements are permitted to sign-out only to their parent’s home.  If students remain in the residence hall past curfew, the sign-out will no longer be valid.  Students who sign-out are not permitted to return to the residence hall prior to 6 a.m. the following morning. Student Life personnel reserve the right to investigate the accuracy of the information submitted on the sign-out sheet.

If you are detained and cannot return to campus at the expected time, you must phone the dormitory supervisor or a resident assistant. Voice mail messages may be left. If you fail to return when expected and do not call, the dormitory supervisor may phone your parents to confirm your whereabouts.

Rampy Hall Supervisor (men's hall):
304-865-6087

Smith Hall Supervisor (women's hall):
304-865-6099

Violations of the sign-out policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

     1st Offense = Written Warning

     2nd Offense = $25 Fine

     3rd Offense = $50 Fine + Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + Individualized Action Plan

     4th Offense = Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life

     5th Offense = Suspension for remainder of semester + Re-application to enroll in subsequent semesters    

In addition, failure to completely fill out the sign-out form will result in the following disciplinary responses:

     1st Offense = Written Warning

     2nd Offense = $25 Fine

     3rd Offense = $50 Fine

     4th Offense = Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + Individualized Action Plan

 

Quiet Hours

Quiet hours are designed to provide an environment that is conducive to rest and study.

Official quiet hours in the residence halls begin at 11:00 p.m. on weeknights and midnight on the weekends and continue until 8:00 a.m. the next day.

During these hours, there should be no noisy activity in the rooms, halls, lobbies or lounges, nor should there be audible noise from televisions, stereos or radios outside the rooms at any time. You are encouraged to use headphones for private listening.

Violations of the quiet hours policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

     1st Offense = Written Warning

     2nd Offense = $25.00 Fine

     3rd Offense = $50.00 Fine

     4th Offense = Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + Individualized Action Plan

 

Safety & Security

One of the best aspects of living on campus at Ohio Valley University is the focus on safety and security for residents. The University attempts to provide such an environment, and there are some things that you can do to help.

Specifically, students should keep their rooms locked at all times. If they fail to do so, the University will not be responsible for lost, stolen, or damaged property. If this is a concern for you, you are encouraged to purchase personal property insurance that covers such loss. Also, please immediately report lost or stolen items to the dormitory supervisor.

Students or visitors will not be permitted access to your room without your permission.
Commuters cannot be in the Sidwell Commons, Rampy Hall, or Smith Hall after curfew unless they have permission from a dormitory supervisor to stay in the residence halls overnight. Residents will be charged $25 per night for each overnight guest. Overnight guests must remain in the residence halls after curfew each night and until 6 a.m. the following morning.

Also, students should not remove window screens; may not use windows for entry or exit, nor may they assist others in doing so; and are not permitted on roofs of campus facilities at anytime.

Violations of this policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

    1st Offense = $25 Fine

    2nd Offense = $50 Fine

    3rd Offense = $50 Fine + Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life

Finally, students are asked to be aware of the fire extinguishers, fire/smoke alarms, and door closures that are installed in various locations on campus including the residence halls. Periodic fire drills will be conducted in each residence hall, and students are expected to participate and obey all guidelines set up for each drill. Tampering with fire extinguishers or other safety equipment shall result in a $100 fine from the university and additional sanctions as required by state law.

 

Prohibited Items & Activities

Please give your attention to the following prohibited items and activities.

Prohibited Items:

  • Free weights are not permitted in your room unless you have a standard, approved weight mat.
  • Pets are not permitted in your room.
  • Candles, incense/incense burners, and kerosene lamps are not permitted in the residence halls. Appliances that present a fire hazard such as hot plates, skillets, toasters, grills, deep fryers, and toaster ovens are also not permitted.
  • Darts and dartboards are not permitted in the residence halls.
  • Wall hangings that are revealing or suggestive may not be displayed. Also, wall hangings or decorations that contain bad language, advertise alcoholic beverages, or are racially offensive to individuals or groups are not permitted.
  • Street or road signs or any other type of public property should not be displayed in dormitory rooms.

Prohibited Activities:

  • Excluding pizza deliveries and vending machines, food is not to be sold in the residence halls.
  • No soliciting will be permitted in the dormitories.
  • Water battles and other rowdy or potentially harmful or destructive activities are prohibited.
  • Outdoor sports equipment may not be used indoors.
  • Students are not permitted to accept overnight babysitting assignments in the dormitories.

Violations of the prohibited items and activities policy may result in the following disciplinary responses:

    1st Offense = $50 Fine

    2nd Offense = $50.00 Fine + Personal Meeting with Dean of Student Life + Individualized Action Plan

 

Furnishings in the Residence Halls

  • Dormitory rooms are adequately and appropriately furnished with a bed, dresser, desk, and closet. Feel free to organize your room furnishings as you please, as long as you don't remove them from your room.
  • Cable jacks are available in each room. Students need to provide their own cable-ready televisions and co-axial cables.
  • A television is also available in the commons area, and is preprogrammed to avoid viewing of material that is inconsistent with the mission of OVU.
  • Residence hall rooms are pre-wired into the campus phone/voice mail system, and a phone is provided. The phone service provides local calling capabilities only. You are encouraged to purchase phone cards for long distance service on campus. For safety reasons, phones must remain plugged in at all times or a $25 fine will be issued.
  • Each residence hall also has two lounges, and a large commons area is placed between the residence halls to encourage student activities.  
  • Rooms are 17' 10" by 11' 9". Windows measure 49" (w) by 55" (l). Blinds are built into the windows.
  • Any furniture belonging to the residents left in the room at the end of the semester will result in a $150.00 fine.

 

Enforcing University Regulations

To ensure your cooperation with University Regulations, Student Life personnel reserve the right to enter and inspect residence hall rooms without prior notice. Unauthorized inspections will occur only when warranted. Additionally, Student Life personnel reserve the right to confiscate personal property that violates University Regulations. Finally, the University will cooperate with local law enforcement officers who wish to enter or search the residence halls for the purposes of locating illegal drugs or questioning students about illegal activities.

 

Incident Report

If you are a victim of, or witness to, a violation of University Regulations, please feel free to report that to Student Life utilizing the Incident Report Form (PDF download).

 

end faq